Mercedes, Hamilton, Russell: Wins after summer break? / Formula 1

“Our purpose should be to win races on our personal in 2022,” stated Lewis Hamilton. Mercedes F1 Racing Team Technical Director Mike Elliott explains the way it will work from the Belgian GP.


Mercedes-Benz’s Formula 1 crew equaled its greatest results of the 2022 season on the Hungarian Grand Prix: 2nd place went to celebrity Lewis Hamilton, third place to younger George Russell on the French Grand Prix. Unbeaten within the Constructors’ Cup because the introduction of the turbo-hybrid period in Formula 1 firstly of 2014, the crew is for certain to win eight consecutive titles by the top of 2021.

At the Hungaroring, Mercedes proved how versatile the world champion crew might be. After main issues with the W13 mannequin in Friday’s follow, the set-up needed to be modified considerably, as chief expertise officer Mike Elliott says: “We needed to make a whole lot of adjustments in a single day. We went within the improper course by voting.”

“But once we modified the setup, it wasn’t clear to us that we had been going to resolve all the issues. We knew why we had been going to make each change, however seeing the velocity we had been in a position to present on Saturday actually energized us.”

Elliott continued: “We’re excited to see the place the automobile is when it comes to qualifying and race tempo. At the start of the 12 months, a whole lot of land needed to be crammed. We can now hold tempo with Red Bull Racing and Ferrari.”

“But we wish extra. As the season restarts after the summer break, we are going to hopefully have additional enhancements to the automobile after which shut the hole on the high. And we are going to proceed to develop the automobile for a while. Now the subsequent step is to win by yourself. We will work tirelessly to realize this aim.”

Hungarian GP, ​​Hungary

01. Max Verstappen (NL), Red Bull Racing, 1:39:36.533 hrs.
02. Lewis Hamilton (GB), Mercedes, +7.834 s
03. George Russell (GB), Mercedes, +12.337
04. Carlos Sainz (E), Ferrari, +14,579
05. Sergio Perez (MEX), Red Bull Racing, +15,688
06. Charles Leclerc (MC), Ferrari, +16,047
07. Lando Norris (GB), McLaren, +1:18.300 min
08. Fernando Alonso (E), Alpi, +1 lap
09. Esteban Ocon (F), Alpine, +1 lap
10. Sebastian Vettel (D), Aston Martin, +1 lap
11. Lance Stroll (CDN), Aston Martin, +1 lap
12. Pierre Gasly (F), AlfaTauri, +1 lap
13. Guanyu Zhou (RC), Alfa Romeo, +1 lap
14. Mick Schumacher (D), Haas, +1 lap
15. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia), McLaren, +1 lap
16. Kevin Magnussen (PC), Haas, +1 lap
17. Alexander Albon (T), Williams, +1 lap
18. Nicholas Latifi (CDN), Williams, +1 lap
19. Yuki Tsunoda (J), AlphaTauri, +2 laps
Valtteri Bottas (FIN), Alfa Romeo, engine

Championship standing (after 13 out of twenty-two races)

01. Verstappen 258 factors
02. Leclerc 178
03. Perez 173
04. Russell 158
05. Sainz 156
06. Hamilton 146
07. Norris 76
08. Okon 58
09. Botta is 46 years previous
10. Alonso 41
11. Magnussen 22
12. Ricardo 19
13. Gaseous 16
14. Hag 16
15. Schumacher 12
16. Tsunoda 11
17. Zhou 5
18. Walk 4
19. Album 3
20. Latifi 0
21. Nico Hulkenberg (D) 0

Constructor’s Cup
01. Red Bull Racing 431 factors
02. Ferrari 334
03. Mercedes 304
04. Alpine 99
05. McLaren 95
06. Alfa Romeo 51
07. Haas 34
08. AlphaTauri 27
09. Aston Martin 20
10. Williams 3


Leave a Comment